Strategic Planning at Valencia

Strategic Planning and College Planning Council Archive Webpage

This webpage contains archive information only. Please check back with us in 2015 as we prepare the Strategic Plan for 2016-21.

The College Planning Council was one of Valencia’s four governing councils. Among the Council’s responsibilities were designing and conducting 1) a collaborative strategic planning process, and 2) a collaborative budgeting process that links the annual budget to the strategic plan. The Strategic Plan for 2008-13 was approved by the District Board of Trustees on June 17, 2008. On September 9, 2011, the Board approved extending the Strategic Plan until 2015. You can access the summary Strategic Plan brochure here.

The Council worked closely with the Senior Leadership Team as it designed and conduced these processes. The CPC created Task Forces to carry out the phases of the planning process, and the charges, agendas, and minutes of those task forces may be accessed through the strategic planning web page. Volunteers were recruited collegewide for the various task forces. The task forces include: Vision, Values, and Mission; Data and Situational/Needs Analysis; Communications; Evaluation; and Strategies, Goals, and Objectives.

The CPC was committed to a collaborative process with many opportunities for involvement of those within the college and in the community that we serve. Throughout the planning cycle, we scheduled big and small group meetings, community meetings, consultations with key constituencies, and discussions by the governing councils and the senior leadership team, all of which combined to enable broad based participation in the various phases of creating, updating, and evaluating the Strategic Plan.

To request additional information or for questions about the College Planning Council, please contact its co-chair: Dr. Susan Ledlow.

Strategic Planning Charge:

  • Coordinate the development and revision of the Strategic Learning Plan
  • Coordinate the development of the annual budget
  • Recommend multi-year budget and staffing plans
  • Oversee the measurement of institutional effectiveness
  • Function as Steering Committee for institutional accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS)
  • Oversee the College's Diversity Plan