The Search for Our Next College President

Valencia College’s District Board of Trustees has named the following candidates as finalists in the Presidential Search. 


Shah Ardalan, Ed.D.*

Dr. Shah Ardalan serves as President of Lone Star College-University Park in Houston, Texas. Dr. Ardalan joined the Lone Star College System’s executive team in January 2008. He served as Vice Chancellor, Chief Information Officer, and LSC-University Park’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO) prior to becoming LSC-University Park’s founding President in September 2012.

*Dr. Ardalan has withdrawn his candidacy as of November 18, 2020.

Lee Ann Nutt, Ed.D.

Dr. Lee Ann Nutt serves as President at Lone Star College in Tomball, Texas.  Prior to assuming the top position in February 2015, Dr. Nutt served as the institution’s Vice President of Instruction (VPI) for over three years. For over 12 years, from 1999 – 2011, she served in various administrative roles at North Central Texas College, including Dean of Continuing Education, Provost, and Vice President of Instruction.

Kathleen A. Plinske, Ed.D.

Dr. Kathleen Plinske serves as Executive Vice President and Provost and as Campus President of the Osceola, Lake Nona, and Poinciana Campuses at Valencia College in Orlando, Florida.  Prior to joining Valencia in 2010, Dr. Plinske began her career at McHenry County College, a community college in her hometown of Crystal Lake, Illinois.  She was hired as an Instructional Media Specialist in 2001 and moved into a number of different roles over the next nine years, including Vice President of Institutional Effectiveness, and ultimately, Interim President.

Anton R. Reece, Ph.D.

Dr. Anton R. Reece serves as President and CEO at West Kentucky Community and Technical College (WKCTC) in Paducah, Kentucky.  Prior to joining WKCTC, Dr. Reece spent thirteen years at the University of Tennessee serving in various roles including, Coordinator of Academic Support, Director of Student Activities, and Associate Vice Provost of Academic Affairs and Director of the Student Success Center.