Valencia's Assessment Coordinating Committee (ACC)

 

The Assessment Coordinating Committee (ACC) has committed to embedding equity into assessment praxis as encouraged by National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment in  A New Decade for Assessment. The committee has mapped Valencia’s Learning Outcomes Assessment Model to the elements of the equity-minded approach outlines by NILOA and will on an on-going basis check procedures against the characteristics of equity-minded assessment, making necessary and appropriate changes as needed to ensure equity is embedded in all things assessment. For more information on Valencia's Learning Outcome Assessment Model click here.

 

The ACC—

  • oversees assessment plans for AS/BS/BAS/AA degrees and general education,
  • stewards a process that promotes college-wide and interdisciplinary collaboration,
  • coordinates each two-year cycle (complete with learning outcomes review, assessment, and implementation of improvement strategies),
  • and is responsible to Learning Council for ongoing, holistic assessment of the college’s assessment process related to the two identified outcomes of the Learning Outcomes Assessment Model:
    1. Stakeholders are engaged in a reflective process related to professional practice and student learning outcomes.             
    2. Pedagogical, curricular, and co‐curricular changes are made in response to and alignment with assessment results.

 

The committee is responsible for maintaining a written set of principles, guidelines and best practices for implementing a learning assessment and improvement cycle that allow flexibility for brave, collaborative, and creative faculty work for improving learning.

 

The committee determines whether proposed assessment plans adhere with college principles and best practices for assessment, and provide recommendations to the plan. Such plans should include -

  • A proposal for reviewing and updating (as needed, through the Curriculum Committee) course and program learning outcomes and ensuring alignment with the appropriate curriculum map.
  • Proposed assessment criteria for the outcomes.
  • A plan for developing and implementing improvement plans based on the results of the assessment.
  • A collaboration and communication plan that ensures wide stakeholder involvement in the process.
     

The committee is responsible for the creation and maintenance of curriculum maps at the college that ensure that there is alignment between course learning outcomes and program learning outcomes and that the assessment process at the college demonstrates achievement of program learning outcomes.

The committee provides an annual interdisciplinary opportunity for presentations of innovative plans, lessons learned, unsuccessful interventions, and successful results that signal potential for further impact if adopted by other areas.

The committee produces appropriate documentation of the work submitted and its own work to ensure that accreditation needs of the institution can be met.

 

 

Committee Members

Role Name Title Email Campus
Co-Chair Nichole Jackson Dir., Learning Assessment njackson18@valenciacollege.edu District Office
Faculty Co-Chair Lisa Macon Professor, Software Development lmacon@valenciacollege.edu East
Faculty Co-Chair Daniel W. Chip Turner Faculty, New Student Experience dturner28@valenciacollege.edu West
CTE Faculty Kristin Abel Professor, Theater Tech kabel@valenciacollege.edu East
Gen Ed Faculty Nicholas Bekas Professor, English nbekas@valenciacollege.edu Downtown
Librarian Nardia Cumberbatch Librarian ncumberbatch@valenciacollege.edu West
CTE/Gen Ed Faculty Edie Gaythwaite Professor, Speech egaythwaite@valenciacollege.edu East
Gen Ed Faculty Tim Grogan Professor, Biology tgrogan@valenciacollege.edu Osceola
CTE Faculty Veeramuthu Rajaravivarma Professor, Electronic Engineering Technology vrajaravivarma@valenciacollege.edu West
CTE Faculty Craig J. Rapp Professor, Hospitality & Tourism crapp1@valenciacollege.edu Downtown
Gen Ed Faculty Andrea Rediske Professor, Biology arediske@valenciacollege.edu East
Dean of Students Edna Jones Miller Dean of Students, Downtown Campus ejonesmiller@valenciacollege.edu Downtown
Executive Dean John Niss Interim Executive Dean jniss@valenciacollege.edu Winter Park
Gen Ed Dean Keri Siler Dean, Mathematics ksiler@valenciacollege.edu East
Dean of Academic Affairs Marlene Temes Interim Dean, Academic Affairs mtemes@valenciacollege.edu Osceola
Teaching & Learning Dori Haggerty Campus Dir., Faculty & Instructional Development dhaggerty2@valenciacollege.edu West
Institutional Research Donna Payne Institutional Research Analyst dkosloski@valenciacollege.edu West
Curriculum & Articulation Cheryl Robinson Dir., Curriculum & Articulation crobinson@valenciacollege.edu District Office
Institutional Effectiveness Darren Smith Dir., Institutional Effectiveness dsmith335@valenciacollege.edu District Office
Ex Officio Daryl Davis Assistant VP, Analytics & Reporting djdavis@valenciacollege.edu West
Ex Officio Wendi Dew Assistant VP, Teaching & Learning wdew@valenciacollege.edu District Office
Ex Officio Nasser Hedayat Assistant VP, Career & Workforce Education nhedayat@valenciacollege.edu District Office

 

 

Meeting Schedule

Meeting Dates Meeting Times Location Meeting Outlines Meeting Notes
June 18th, 2020 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 6 18 20  ACC Approved 6 30 20
June 30th, 2020 2:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 6 30 20  ACC Approved 7 15 20
July 15th, 2020 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 7 15 20  ACC Approved 7 23 20
July 23rd, 2020 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 7 23 20  ACC Approved 9 24 20
September 24th, 2020 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 9 24 20  ACC Approved 10 22 20
October 22nd, 2020 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 10 22 20  ACC Approved 11 19 20
November 19th, 2020 3:45 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 11 19 20  ACC Approved 12 10 20
December 10th, 2020 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 12 10 20  ACC Approved 1 28 21
January 28th, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 1 28 21  ACC Approved 2 25 21
February 25th, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 2 25 21  ACC Approved 3 25 21
March 25th, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 3 25 21  ACC Approved 4 22 21
April 22nd, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 4 22 21  ACC Approved 5 27 21
May 27th, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 5 27 21  ACC Approved 6 24 21
June 24th, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 6 24 21  ACC Approved 7 22 21
July 22nd, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 7 22 21  ACC Approved 8 26 21
August 26th, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Zoom  ACC Meeting 8 26 21 ACC Approved 9 30 21
September 30th, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.  Zoom ACC Meeting 9 30 21 ACC Approved 10 28 21
October 28th, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.  Zoom ACC Meting 10 28 21 ACC Approved 11 11 21
November 11th, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.  Zoom ACC Meeting 11 11 21 ACC Approved # # #

For more information or further assistance with the assessment coordinating committee meetings, meeting outlines, or meeting notes please contact Nichole Jackson njackson18@valenciacollege.edu, Daniel Turner dturner28@valenciacollege.edu or Lisa Macon lmacon@valenciacollege.edu.