International Education Committees

In 2008, the SAGE Advisory Committee was formed to provide input and guidance all aspects of study abroad. In 2010 the composition and scope of that group changed with the implementation of the  Strategic Plan for International Education. The International Education Steering Committee was formed to get the work of the strategic plan underway. In September 2012, the College determined that the subcommittees would report directly to the College Learning Council[BROKEN LINK].

Goals of the Strategic Plan for International Education

Goal 1

Curricular Review and Enhancement

Goal 2

Expand College and Community Partnerships

Goal 3

Maximize Funding for SAGE Initiatives

Goal 4

Increase Student and Faculty Involvement in Global Distinction, Internationalizing the Curriculum (INZ), Short-term Study Abroad & Semester Abroad Programs

Annual Reports

 2011-2012  2015-2016
 2012-2013  2016-2017
 2013-2014  2017-2018 
 2014-2015   2018-2019
 2019-2020  2020-2021

Contact us

  • Monday to Friday: 8am to 4:30pm (Virtual appointments only)
Email and Phone
Social Media
As part of our work in international education, we surveyed Valencia College faculty, staff, and students. Here is a copy of our working draft of the  Competencies of a Global Citizen.
Read more about Internationalization at Valencia. Visit The Grove

Study Abroad Committee


The Study Abroad and Global Experiences (SAGE) Committee is a permanent advisory group to the SAGE department and is responsible for overseeing the development, modification, and enhancement of the functions of Valencia College’s SAGE initiatives.

Term Limits

Appointed faculty are limited to serving on the SAGE Committee for four consecutive years before rotating off. Appointed members can be nominated by their campus representative to rejoin the committee after rotating off for one or more years.


Member Representation Term Year Appointed
Lisa Eli (co-chair) Global and Cont Ed. by position  
Shara Lee (co-chair) Academic Affairs & Service Learning by position  
Holly Bouma SAGE Office by position  
Steve Mammino Risk Management by position  
Wayne Bart SAGE Office by position  
Beth King INZ  by position  
Robyn Brighton Honors by position  
Jerry Hensel SAGE Faculty Ombudsman by position  
Martie Berrios Garcia Study Abroad Advisor by position  
Eric Wallman NEH Endowment by position  
Alex Erdmann Discipline Dean - AS appointed 22/23
Scott Creamer Discipline Dean - AA appointed 22/23
Ciara Hensley Librarian - EC appointed 20/21
Charlotte Mortimer Faculty - WC appointed 23/24
Jeremy Bassetti Faculty - EC appointed 19/20
Mukesh George Faculty - WC appointed 22/23
Marsha Butler Faculty - WC appointed 22/23
Melissa Schreiber Faculty - EC appointed  23/24
Mike Szalma Faculty - OSC appointed 19/20
Tammy Gitto Faculty – PNC appointed 20/21
Dominic DiPaolo Faculty – EAC appointed 22/23

International Education Connections Team

The International Educations Connections Team is the decision-making group for all issues related to international education at Valencia College.  They also give final approval for faculty proposals to lead short-term study abroad programs.

  • Joe Battista
  • Wendy Givoglu
  • Lancelot Gooden
  • Danny Hoey Jr.
  • Sobia Khan
  • Lisa Eli
  • Lesley Frederick
  • Isis Artze-Vega
  • Molly McIntire
  • Doreen Watson